Computer case for 7 video cards

Case “X7 Compact 1” for graphic systems with the ability to install up to seven video cards. Designed to build a computer requiring the installation of a large number of video cards, and is primarily aimed at 3D artists and render farms working with GPU renderers, such as Octane, Redshift, Vray-RT, FStorm and others.

For assembly, you can use Asus P9X79-E WS motherboards, ASUS X99-E WS, ASUS WS X299 or other ATX formats. The increased distance between the video cards allows the use of most video card designs and provides good cooling. There is a place to install a tower cooler that allows the use of powerful processors. Powerful, reliable and quiet power system. The size of the case allows both installation in a server rack, and use as a working computer.

 

 

The following video shows all the main components of the computer and the assembly process.

The video shows the main parts of the body and the assembly process. As well as launch and test the system.

Background:

I started building computers for GPU rendering more than two years ago (in 2016). First, put the video card in computers for CPU rendering. But you cannot put many cards in there, and the computer could be used either only for CPU rendering, or only for GPU, which is not very profitable. So it was decided to make a separate computer specifically for GPU rendering. It was found out experimentally that the mining risers give a loss in rendering speed of about 20%. Speed ​​1x is clearly not enough. It was decided to use 16x and 8x risers for connecting video cards. The first computer was assembled on the base of the ASUS P6T7 WS motherboard and 7 NVIDIA GTX 1070 video cards safely earned on it. The system was assembled into a converted 4U rack housing, in which the first ideas on the location and cooling of video cards were tested. It also turned out that for many projects, the rendering speed is affected by the computer’s processor, and the more frequency it has on the core, the better. I built the second computer taking into account the experience gained. For about a year, he passed all kinds of tests and improvements with me. And just now I decided to make a video review about him.

Now this computer works on my farm and you can remotely connect to it and try it in work or tests.

Specifications:

Power system 3 server power supply for 1200W. Can provide power for 7 video cards with a consumption of 350W each. As well as a powerful processor (or two processors).
Cooling system The case provides for installation of 8 fans (3 for 120mm and 5 for 90mm). High-performance server fans with long-life rolling bearings are used.
Transition card for video cards This card provides easy installation of video cards and reliable signal transfer. Allows you to easily remove the video card for cleaning and maintenance. The increased gap between video cards allows you to organize good cooling and the use of cards with any cooling design.
Case manufacturing
Factory. 1mm metal. Powder coating.
Manufacturing of additional components Printed circuit boards are manufactured by the factory method. Components are unsoldered manually. Cables are made by hand from quality components.
Dimensions WxHxG mm 450x204x535 (Perhaps dimensions will be slightly increased for more free installation of hard drives, long and high graphics cards.)
Weight empty box about 8 kilograms

Price:

Estimated price of 600 – 800 usd. This includes the Case, GPU Board, Power Board, 3 Power Supplies, 8 Coolers, Cables for connecting power to video cards and motherboard.
For a full-fledged computer, you will also need a motherboard, a processor, a cooler for the processor, memory, a hard disk, and video cards.

The cost will depend on the party. I need to collect from 10 orders, so that the price is close to $ 600

Terms:
It will take about a month to make it, as long as I’ll make it to order.

Evolution:

You can order to make the body according to individual parameters. For example, make a smaller number of video cards, or increase the size of the case, so that fit any cooling system for the processor.
Soon I will present the design of the case for the installation of a 2-processor motherboard.

It is also possible to complete the assembly of the computer for your needs.

Contacts:

Kiev, Ukraine, Anton Morozov
skype: anton_mor
e-mail: xiruimfarm@gmail.com
Tel / Viber / Whatsapp: + 38-066-087-78-38
Facebook Group: facebook.com/groups/xiruimfarm/

Корпус для компьютера на 7 видеокарт

Корпус «X7 Compact 1» для графических систем возможностью установки до семи видеокарт. Предназначен для сборки компьютера требующего установки большого количества видеокарт, и ориентирован в первую очередь на 3D художников и рендер фермы работающих с GPU рендерами, такими как Octane, Redshift, Vray-RT, FStorm и других подобных.

Для сборки можно использовать материнские платы Asus P9X79-E WS, ASUS X99-E WS, ASUS WS X299 или другие ATX формата. Увеличенное расстояние между видеокартами позволяет использовать большинство дизайнов видеокарт и обеспечивает хорошее охлаждение. Есть место для установки башенного кулера, что позволяет использовать мощные процессоры. Мощная, надежная и тихая система питания. Размеры корпуса позволяют как установку в серверную стойку, так и использование на рабочем месте.

 

В следующем ролике показаны все основные компоненты компьютера и процесс сборки.

В видео обзоре показаны основные детали корпуса и процесс сборки. А так же запуск и тест системы.

Предыстория:

Собирать компьютеры для GPU рендеринга я начал более двух лет назад (в 2016). Сначала ставил видеокарты в компьютеры для CPU рендеринга. Но туда много карт не вставишь, да и компьютер можно было использовать или только для CPU рендеринга, или только для GPU, что не очень рентабельно. Так что было решено делать отдельный компьютер специально для GPU рендеринга. Опытным путем было выяснено что райзеры для майнинга дают потерю в скорости рендеринга порядка 20%. Скорости 1х явно не хватает. Было принято решение использовать шлейфы для подключения видеокарт. Первый компьютер был собран на базе материнской платы ASUS P6T7 WS и на нем благополучно заработали 7 видеокарт NVIDIA GTX 1070. Система была собрана в переделанный стоечный корпус 4U, в котором и были испытаны первые идеи по расположению и охлаждению видеокарт. Так же выяснилось, что для многих проектов на скорость рендеринга влияет процессор компьютера, и чем больше у него частота на ядро — тем лучше. Второй компьютер я собирал уже с учетом полученного опыта. Около года он проходил у меня всевозможные тесты и доработки. И только сейчас я решил снять о нем видео обзор.

Сейчас этот компьютер работает у меня на ферме и вы можете удаленно подключится к нему и попробовать его в работе или тестах.

Характеристики:

Система питания 3 серверных блока питания на 1200W. Могут обеспечить питание для 7-ми видеокарт с потреблением по 350W каждая. А так же мощного процессора (или двух процессоров).
Система охлаждения В корпусе предусмотрена установка 8ми вентиляторов (3 на 120мм и 5 на 90мм). Используются серверные высокоэффективные вентиляторы на долговечных подшипниках качения.
Переходная плата для видеокарт Такая плата обеспечивает легкую установку видеокарт и надежную передачу сигнала. Позволяет в дальнейшем легко вынимать видеокарты для чистки и обслуживания. Увеличенный промежуток между видео картами позволяет организовать хорошее охлаждение и использование карт с любым дизайном охлаждения.
Изготовление корпуса Заводское. Металл 1мм. Порошковая покраска.
Изготовление дополнительных компонентов Печатные платы изготавливаются фабричным методом. Компоненты распаиваются вручную. Кабели изготавливаются вручную из качественных компонентов.
Размеры ШxВxГ мм 450x204x535 (Возможно размеры будут немного увеличены для более свободной установки жестких дисков, длинных и высоких видеокарт.)
Вес пустая коробка около 8ми килограмм

Цена:

Предполагаемая цена 600 — 800 usd. Сюда входит Корпус, Плата для GPU, Плата питания, 3 Блока питания, 8 Кулеров, Кабели для подключения питания к видеокартам и мат. плате.
Для полноценного компьютера вам понадобятся еще материнская плата, процессор, кулер для процессора, память, жесткий диск, видеокарты.

Стоимость будет зависеть от партии. Мне нужно собрать от 10ти заказов, чтоб цена приблизилась к 600$

Сроки:

На изготовление уйдет ориентировочно месяц, так как пока буду делать под заказ.

Развитие:

Можно изменить дизайн корпуса. Например сделать под меньшее количество видеокарт, или увеличить размеры корпуса, чтоб помещалась любая система охлаждения для процессора.
В скором времени представлю проект корпуса для установки 2х процессорной материнской платы.

Так же возможна полная сборка компьютера под ваши нужды.

Контакты:

Киев, Антон Морозов
skype: anton_mor
e-mail: xiruimfarm@gmail.com
тел/вайбер/ватсап: +38-066-087-78-38
Группа Вконтакте: vk.com/xiruimfarm
Группа Фейсбук: facebook.com/groups/xiruimfarm/